Feeler for potential community, probe for existing one(s)

Greetings to all, I am a recent grad (political science) from Alabama. I’ve been studying the idea of sustainable, egalitarian living for several years and always with credence paid to left wing politics originating in Europe during the dawn of capitalism.

I am interested in either starting or joining an existing community that isn’t entirely off the grid, where people do get corporate jobs (if needed for individual contributions to the group) but one that is different than other intentional communities (that already focus on sustainability and democracy) in that it remains very involved with political movements nearby (must be near a major city). Essentially I am thinking of a collective with very clear political goals, not just to escape the grind but to help undermine it both internally and externally while functioning as a democratic eco-friendly community.

If anything similar exists please let me know. I think I would like to help plan such a community but of course I am not made of money (my degree has landed me an unrelated blue collar job thus far). For what it’s worth I am willing to take risks to help found or join such a community. I have a grand vision for a confederation of decentralized communities that are actively involved in saving the planet and revolutionizing the way we live.

1 Like

Jbozema4, Look into FreedomCells.org

Over 40,000 people in about 10,000 cells around the world forming communities of liberty-loving Permaculturists, Agorists, Voluntaryists, and similar philosophies. Many of the cells are seeking people with skills and leadership ability to organize or expand their communities.

My cell is Lee County Freedom Cell in Appalachian SW Virginia. We are also listed in the IC.org directory as “Liberty Tree” Farm. Always looking for good people.

Joy and abundance,

Cory “Cimarron” Layne

1 Like