The benifits of having a community membership category of Peripetitic Communitarian in any community

I am in my second year of living my life out as a self-designated Peripatetic Communitarian, “Peripat” for short. I feel it is potential of great benefit to both any community and any individual seeking or belonging to community.
I first heard the phrase used in describing it’s coiner, Geoph Kozeny in 2015 on The Farm in TN, unfortunately 8 years after his passing. He is very searchable including on ic.org. Immediately on hearing it, I let out a giant gasp: Ha! that’s what I am!
My personal working definition has become: I live in community every day of the year, 2 or more communities, 2 or more months each, each year repeating. Currently living in 3 communities, in 3 states in the “U”“S”, which mite be called an attempt at a community of communities it self.
So far, I am amazed at the benefits I feel to my self as individual, and very hopeful for the benefits to each community available.
I have met a number of younger communitarians who live on edges of processes of memberships, & affiliations of immense endeavor, with more than one community each, who are very attracted to the concept. And I hereby put this up here for potential discussion. —grateful ole mar_tree

7 Likes

Love this! I can tell you and I would get along famously. Keep up the positive vibes and showing positive examples of what’s possible.

I love this, one idea I have is a farm share. Kind of a time share but farm work and profit sharing.

I’ve been a “frequent flyer” in some communities over time, and sometimes it’s been tough to feel like I could be a part of community while continuing to do work that requires travel (that I enjoy!). Also… it gets cold in some places and hot in others – why shouldn’t I be able to split time? :rofl:

2 Likes